Our people are at the core of what makes the Clarence Choi's Landslide Research Group such a unique and fulfilling place to work. We’re proud of the diversity of our staff, with each member contributing their unique skills to the projects we’re working on. Together, we’ve planned and executed some of the most innovative and cutting edge experiments. Find out more about our team members below.


Dr Choi is Assistant Professor of the Geotechnical Group in the Department of Civil Engineering at The University of Hong Kong. He is founding and current Chair of the Debris Flow and Steep Creek Hazards Mitigation Committee of the Association of Geohazard Professionals. He is a Board Member of the International Consortium of Landslides of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Chair-nominated Member of the Technical Committee on Slope Stability (TC208) of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE), Hong Kong nominated representative for the Joint Technical Committee (JTC1) on natural slopes and landslides, and an invited expert scientist on the One Belt One Road Mountain Disaster Dynamics and Integrated Prevention team of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). He is also on the Editorial Board of Landslides. Clarence received the 2017 Telford Premium Prize from the Institution of Civil Engineers in the U.K., the 2017 R.M. Quigley Award from the Canadian Geotechnical Society and the Fugro Paper Prize from the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers in 2015. Dr Choi was appointed a Junior Fellow of the HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study from 2015 to 2017 and from 2017 to 2019. He was also appointed as an individual member to the class of 2019 (6th Exercise) of the Chinese Association of Young Scientists and Technologists (第六届中国青年科技工作者协会). 


Mr. Yu obtained his Masters from the University of Sydney. His research is on submarine landslides mechanisms.


Dr Goodwin obtained PhD from The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He received the prestigious Hong Kong PhD Fellowship during his studies and was also awarded the Telford Premium Prize from the Institution of Civil Engineers in UK. His research areas include flow-structure interaction and understanding the mesoscopic mechanics of granular flows.


Pengjia graduated top of his class at Sichuan University. His PhD work focuses on entrainment dynamics of flow-like landslides.


Dr Zhang has received numerous national awards for his research. He is an expert at implementing coupled numerical analysis and transparent soil techniques for geomechanics.


Dr Senthilkumar served as a Senior Research Fellow for the Government of India. He is the recipient of International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE) foundation award in May 2017. Dr Senthilkumar's research focuses on dynamic soil-structure interaction.


Zhengyu's research is on numerical modelling of flow-like geohazards using SPH-DEM. He is also interested in applying machine learning techniques to enhance image analysis in geomechanics.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2019 by Clarence Choi.